Word Press

This week the EMT that I wanted… and even more needed to learn more about was WordPress. Since we are using this site for not only the EMT course that I’m currently taking but throughout my entire Master’s program… I felt that I really needed to be more versed in this.

Having a background in web design, I could’ve done the WordPress site where I pay for the hosting and create a site from the WordPress download. However, I’d like to not only be able to show students and teachers how by using the WordPress site you can customize and create a free site for many different uses.

The original site that I had created for this course, I tried to find a template that I liked the look of, but I found customizing this particular template not very easy for the uses of this course. I went through the training on Lynda.com. As I went through this course there were certain tools that I discovered that everyone should know about.

Chapter 3: Building a Profile – Highlights

  • Adjusting site settings and improving privacy and findability
  • Exploring Advanced Sharing Options
  • Adding Sharing Buttons to posts and pages

WordPress Sharing Options
Having multiple social media websites I found this linking and sharing ability on WordPress very helpful. I was easily able to link my WordPress site to my Facebook Techie for Teachers Page, Twitter, LinkedIn, and my Tumbler accounts.

This is a great way to keep your various pages up to date and make sure your content is the same on all sites.

Chapter 4: Creating Posts – Highlights

This entire chapter was very informative.. since I was having a difficult time differentiating between pages and posts. Coming from traditional website design, I was used to various pages being designated for specific information. WordPress had many great tools for adding posts and functionality as well as formatting your text. Here are a few of my favorites.

  • Creating a New Post
  • Advanced text formatting in a new post
  • Using Built-in tools to improve posts

There are a couple of options when you are creating posts, you can either do a quick post from the main WordPress page. Looking at the screenshot below you can see it’s laid out so you have your choices of which type of content you’re looking to post about. From there you can easily insert photos or a photo gallery as I did below. If you’re wanting a more customized post like the one I did for this particular post, you would need to access the setting from your WordPress dashboard.

From your dashboard settings you’ll go to the side link where it says Posts > Add New, or in the Upper Right Corner where it states New Post

New Post

Screen Shot 2013-02-16 at 10.24.38 PM

Kitchen Sink

Kitchen Sink

While you’re typing your post there is an option your should always have listed called the “Kitchen Sink”. This option allows the user many different text formatting options that you would otherwise not know was available.

This chapter was probably the most useful in terms of showing someone all these tools as well as various ways to insert media, and arrange it so it’s visually pleasing.


User > Personal Settings > Proofreading

There is an option you can also choose in your setting that will proofread your posts before you publish them.
This not only can help you to improve your writing, but there are even more options that are available to you such as: double negatives, jargon, etc… so you can tell WordPress to look for these items in your posts.
Once you hit Publish a pop-up will show and then all your corrections will show similar to a spellcheck function.

Below I have analyzed this tool based on: usability, navigation, content, appropriate audience, privacy options, cost and support for this ET.

  • Usability – As a designer at first to have a dashboard and not really getting any code, it was a little foreign at first. But as I watched the tutorials, I found that this would be a great asset to people who are wanting presence on the internet without having to learn code and to easily find a design from the WordPress site to plug in either a free one or a paid one.
  • Navigation – The Navigation wasn’t very difficult after I watched the tutorials, however prior to that without knowing where various tools were listed or how to access some of them, it would be difficult for someone to edit a WordPress site without assistance.  If you were given this site already designed, it would be extremely simple to manage and update with a few quick pointers.
  • Appropriate Audience – Any person who is looking to have a blog site or create a website using the WordPress design can easily have a site. This is geared towards ease of use and ease of creation, no matter the audience.
  • Privacy options – there are various levels of privacy options available with WordPress, although I’m not sure you’d want privacy with the purpose of blogging. However, if you created a pen name for yourself, you would be able to maintain that without anyone knowing any additional information about you.
  • Cost – the cost for a WordPress basic site is free. There are various upgrades if one would wish to have those. I myself did a Custom Design font upgrade which is 30/yr, but this is not a necessity to have a site.
  • Support – there are no many different support sites as well as WordPress itself if a user would need help on editing or designing for this tool.

So far this WordPress Tutorial has been an amazing tool that can be used by so many different people. I’m excited to finish the remainder of this course so I can share what I’ve learned!




One comment on “Word Press

  1. Betsy, the information you provided in this review was both educational and helpful. As a blogger using WordPress, I haven’t yet learned all the features but with the information you provided in this review, the Proofreading option under the User and Personal Settings I was able to get into my personal setting and add the Proofreading option.I also agree that the proofreading is a good tool to have within your blog page, because when you have a spelling and grammar check it will help improve your writing by allowing the user to check for errors before the posting to the blog. Great review and very useful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

